1. vinnabarta@gmail.com : admin :
  2. admin_naim@vinnabarta.net : admin_naim :
Sheikh Hasina confers Ekushey Padak 2024 to 21 individuals - EN-vinnabarta

Sheikh Hasina confers Ekushey Padak 2024 to 21 individuals

Vinnabarta Desk
  • Update Time : Tuesday, February 20, 2024
  • 12 Time View

Prime minister Sheikh Hasina on Tuesday conferred Ekushey Padak 2024 to 21 eminent personalities in recognition of their outstanding contributions to different fields.

She handed over the Ekushey Padak, the country’s second highest civilian award, at a ceremony at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka.

Cultural affairs ministry organised the event on the occasion of Amar Ekushey and International Mother Language Day-2024.

Among the award recipients, Ashraf Uddin Ahmed (Posthumous) and freedom fighter Hatem Ali Mia (Posthumous) were honoured with this award for their roles in the Language Movement.

Besides, Jalal Uddin Kha, (Posthumous) freedom fighter Kalyani Ghosh, Bidit Lal Das (Posthumous), Andrew Kishore (Posthumous) and Subhro Deb, were recognised for their contributions to music while Shibli Mohammad, Dolly Zahur and MA Alamgir for performing dance and acting, respectively.

Popular elocutionist Shimul Mustapha and Rupa Chakraborty were also conferred the Ekushey Padak.

Shahjahan Ahmed Bikash and Kawsar Chowdhury were awarded for their contribution to painting and documentary films related to the Liberation War.

Md Ziaul Haque and Rafiq Ahmed were given the award for social services.

Meanwhile, Muhammad Samad, Lutfur Rahman Riton, Minar Mansur and Rudra Mohammad Shahidullah received the award for contributing to language and literature while Jinabodhi Bhikkhu for his contribution to education.

Cabinet secretary Mahbub Hossain conducted the function and read out the citations of the award recipients in the award-giving ceremony chaired by cultural affairs secretary Khalil Ahmed.