1. vinnabarta@gmail.com : admin :
  2. admin_naim@vinnabarta.net : admin_naim :
AL allies defeated in most seats - EN-vinnabarta

AL allies defeated in most seats

Vinnabarta Desk
  • Update Time : Monday, January 8, 2024
  • 33 Time View

The Sheikh Hasina-led Bangladesh Awami League was set to form the government for the fourth consecutive term after it reached close to securing an absolute majority in the 12th general election held on Sunday amid allegations of widespread irregularities and low voter turnout.

According to unofficial results declared by the returning officers as of 12:10am, in available results of 276 Jatiya Sangsad seats out of 299, the ruling Awami League won 212 seats, Jatiya Party 11 seats, other AL allies two seats and independents won 51 seats.

Many candidates of the Jatiya Party and other allies who were endorsed by the Awami League, however, were either defeated or were on the verge of defeat in the election boycotted by most opposition parties, including the main opposition Bangladesh Nationalist Party.

AL either withdrew or did not field candidates in 25 constituencies in favour of the Jatiya Party and shared its party symbol with six candidates from its alliance partners. An overwhelming majority of these 32 candidates were on the verge of defeat, according to available results.

As of 10:00pm, according to unofficial results declared by returning officers in 94 seats, AL candidates won 73 seats.

Besides, Jatiya Party candidates won the seats of its chairman, GM Quader, secretary general Mujibul Haque Chunnu, and co-chairman Ruhul Amin Hawladar.

Among the six candidates of alliance partners Rashed Khan Menon of Barishal-2, AKM Rezaul Karim Tansen of Bogura-4 won, while Fazle Hossain Badshah of Rajshahi-2, Hasanul Haq Inu of Kushtia-2, Anwar Hossain Manju Pirojpur-2, and Mossraf Hossain of Lakshmipur-4 lost.

AL candidates were on the verge of winning in Dhaka, where Jatiya Party candidate Sharifa Quader of Dhaka-18 was defeated.

Unofficial results of 12th JS Polls

Total AL Allies Independents

276 212 13 51